In 1999, as today, a number of colleges and universities were struggling to become more effective, efficient, service-oriented institutions.

No single association brought together the campus leaders charged with overseeing these initiatives, to facilitate the sharing of best practices and to promote these purposes nationally. NCCI was formed to be that association.

The Dr. Brent D. Ruben Award is presented to a NCCI member in appreciation of their leadership in founding and sustaining NCCI to advance excellence in higher education.

Award Recipients

  • 2022: Carol Mullaney
  • 2021: Davina Desnoes & Kathleen Scott
  • 2020: Cindy Taylor
  • 2019: Dr. Ruth Johnston & Dr. Harry Hertz
  • 2018: Dr. Teresa A. Hartnett
  • 2017: Dr. David Ward
  • 2016: Catherine Lilly
  • 2015: Dr. John Dew
  • 2014: Dr. Kathryn L. Burkgren
  • 2013: Dr. Lawrence A. Gould
  • 2011: Posthumously to the family of Roderick “Rick” Wallick
  • 2009: Ron Coley
  • 2008: Maury Cotter
  • 2007: Louise Sandmeyer
  • 2006: Dr. Brent Ruben